Just a couple…

Once upon a time- Cory and I were just a couple… two kids with no kids who could do whatever we wanted whenever we wanted. Then our lives became fuller and happier than we ever dreamed when Owen and Hunter joined our family! We love being parents, more than anything in the world! It’s exhausting and rewarding. Our days are filled with endless amounts of cute phrases coming from tiny mouths, and sometimes breakdowns, but somehow those end up being sweet too because they end with hugs and kisses and cuddles.

With all this joyful love and busyness- my alone time with Cory has taken a significant nosedive. In fact it would probably be safe to assume it has crashed and burned! I know that this is just a season, with kiddos who constantly need us, so I try to cherish the moments with them! Luckily, we both have amazing sets of parents who not only take care of the boys while we are at work, but let the boys spend the night from time to time so Cory and I can remember what it’s like to be husband and wife.

We had plans to stay at the LaSalle in Bryan Saturday night and run around College Station like we used to in our younger days. I get all kinds of nostalgia being back in Aggieland! Man- this did not turn out the way I had envisioned! I thought about how we would be romantic and hold hands and sip wine and eat at all the restaurants we used to love! And I’m sure we would have- had I not gotten food poisoning from a sandwich at lunch. We had just been in town a couple of hours! It was awful- I felt so sick, sicker than I can remember feeling in a good while. It was not romantic or cute, it was nothing like I had envisioned. We spend the majority of our night holed up in our hotel room. Cory wasn’t feeling great either. He has been getting over a severe bout of hand, foot, and mouth, courtesy of Hunter, that has left him with a horrible sore throat and lots of little red bumps on his hands. (Luckily Hunter’s case was very mild!) We were a mess! It was a mess!

BUT…the more I think about this past weekend and what an epic fail it was, the more I see the triumph in it. I am so thankful for a husband who loves me and enjoys spending time with me even with my head hanging in a toilet. I’m thankful that we can laugh about this and am glad that we have such a funny story to tell! I’m thankful that I can do completely gross things in the name feeling horrific and not be self conscious around him. I’m also thankful that these pretty little pictures we have planned out in our heads can be turned upside down and it can serve as a wonderful and beautiful reminder of how strong our marriage is and how  we can count on each other no matter what.

I could go for another date night sometime soon… but for now I can rest easy knowing that our sense of humor is intact and that our marriage feels like a very safe and comfortable place!

IMG_0442

I’ll leave you with a “before” picture. This is us in front of my college home! I’ll spare you any “after” photos. In fact, I’m crossing my fingers that there are none…

Leave a Reply

